Delaware State Requirements


Required Continuing Education Hours

Life Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Health or Sickness and Accident Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Long-Term Care (LTC)

All Delaware health producers who solicit LTC policies must complete at least 3 hours of state-approved Delaware LTC training during the 2-year license term in which the product is solicited. This requirement does not need to be met prior to solicitation of the product.

Property and Casualty Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Resident Adjusters

12 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Public Adjusters

12 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term.

Nonresident CE Requirements

  • Nonresident licensees (except for Adjusters not licensed in their home state) are required to renew their licenses online at www.nipr.com.

  • Nonresident adjusters, who are not licensed in his or her home state, are required to submit a hard copy of the license renewal to the Delaware Department of Insurance along with the appropriate fees.

  • If the nonresident licensee fails to comply with continuing education requirements in his or her home state, it may result in the suspension/revocation of the Delaware license and/or fines.

License Term

The license term for resident licensees is every 2 years, starting on March 1 of even numbered years and ending on the last day of February of even numbered years.

The license term for nonresident licensees is every 2 years, starting on March 1 of odd numbered years and ending on the last day of February of odd numbered years.

CE Subject Requirements

Licensees must complete 3 hours in approved ethics courses. For the remaining hours, there are no category restrictions in Delaware. Licensees may complete their Delaware CE requirement by taking courses approved for any line of authority.

Final Exam Requirements

Self-study final exams DO NOT require a monitor.

Self-study final exams are open book. Licensees may refer to the course material as often as needed. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

Excess credit hours can be carried forward to the next 2-year license term. The maximum amount of credit hours that can be carried forward is 5. Excess hours in LTC, Flood insurance, and Ethics will carry forward as general credit.

Course Repetition Rules

A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

Certificate of Completion

AOIS provides online, printable certificates of completion in Delaware. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for three years.

License Renewal Process

All licensees (except for nonresident adjusters who are not licensed in their home state) must renew their license online at www.nipr.com.

Non-resident Adjusters who are not licensed in their home state are required to submit a hard copy of the renewal application to the Delaware Department of Insurance along with the appropriate fees (see state contact information below).

CE Exemptions

Licensees are exempt from continuing education if one of the following is true:

  • The licensee holds a limited lines producer license and writes consumer credit, title, crop/hail, surety, and car rental insurance policies.

  • The licensee is a resident adjuster licensed solely for surety and/or marine and transportation.

  • The licensee is a nonresident adjuster or a nonresident public adjuster.

  • The licensee is a limited lines producer licensed for life insurance or annuity products used solely to fund a pre-need arranged funeral program.

Helpful Links

License Number Lookup

View your CE Transcript

Renew your license online

Delaware Department of Insurance

State Contact Information

Delaware Insurance Department
Phone: 302-674-7300
Fax: 302-739-5280
Email: licensing@state.de.us

Mailing Address:
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

AOIS provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither AOIS nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.


CURRICULUM COURSES CLASSROOM HELP CONTACT US